Author: Michael Lewis
Format: Hardback, 128 pages
Little known in Cornwall and still less further afield, the Pentewan Railway had an unremarkable life; yet its history is still fascinating. Opened in 1829 as a horse-drawn tramway for carrying china clay, it was rebuilt as a narrow-gauge steam railway in 1873 by the internationally famous engineer, John Barraclough Fell. Its fortunes were inextricably linked to the picturesque harbour of Pentewan, built by the same landowner, and they succeeded and failed together.
It was an intimate part of the local community, and memories of its Sunday School Specials lived on long after its closure in 1918. Reminiscences of those who worked and travelled on the line bring this delightful railway to life.
Also included are details of the narrow gauge line at Pentewan serving the concrete works and the fullest account yet of Cornwall’s earliest known railway, of 1783, at Happy Union Streamworks.
Includes 111 illustrations.